top of page

Deliberate Dedication

An independent research project can be demanding in any context, but studying abroad at the same time is especially challenging because of the mental exertion that even simple daily activities can induce. It is often mentally straining to be fully engaged in Spanish all day, everyday. In the beginning of my time abroad, I didn’t understand why I felt so drained by the end of each day even though I didn’t have an unusually large amount of work. By now, I understand how being immersed in a different language and culture is mentally exhausting in a distinct way. I believe it is essential to recognize this feeling in order to take occasional mental breaks, for me this most often means calling home and speaking Hungarian with my family.

Working independently on a project is nothing new to me, and I generally like the prospect of keeping myself engaged in something on my own terms. The freedom of an independent study is a luxury unless or until I forget to stay disciplined. I have come to realize that it is absolutely crucial to stay dedicated to the project even on top of all my other work. The most challenging part is sticking to my self-created timeline simply because when I become busier in my other classes I tend to put aside my research project to focus on the deadlines at hand.

Luckily, I have my internship weekly which helps keep me engaged in my research topic. Although I don’t have the opportunity to converse with my colleagues too often because they are also kept busy, I still have the chance to ask them questions and remain updated with current events regarding the electrical industry in Chile. Moreover, I occasionally meet with my research advisor, Profesor Osses, and he never fails to get me excited to work on my project. We discuss any questions I have and any progress I have made. My internship and research advisor are key motivators for me during this time in the semester when all my other classes are also picking up the pace with difficult assignments and projects.

I have recently been researching about the Chilean state’s role in the electricity industry and how much influence the government has on the generation, transmission, and distribution of electricity. Currently, I am looking into the Chilean societal perspective on electricity consumption. So far, I have found that it is much harder to gage the views of the public on this topic because there is not enough information readily available, especially when looking for relevant and reliable studies that are not outdated. Hopefully for this next challenging step my internship will be able to help provide information that I otherwise wouldn’t have access to.

bottom of page